Dan Dot Blog

Based on a true story

Starving, but Intellectually Nourished

Just finished an extensive tour of the Shanghai museum. Due to some bureaucratic mistakes on my part, changing money required me to walk back and forth between my hotel and the bank of China twice. That coupled with time spent completing my poster in the morning and catching up with a few friends led to a later start to the day than I had hoped. I did get to talk to Twila in the AM and I gave her my brief and likely soon-to-change impression of Shanghai. I also called Cynthia, and we had a nice chat about China, wine, academic ambition, and NIH grants.

I took a very long, and painfully silent, cab ride from the Ramada in PuDong to the Shanghai museum in PuXi. I really need to get less shy and at least TRY my Mandarin. I’m always so laudatory to those who are brave while learning English, and it’s only fair that I hold myself to that standard.

For the most part Shanghai kist seems like a really cool city. There seem to be far fewer Westerners in PuXi as compared to PuDong, which is fine with me. I’m definitely not here to conduct business, and it seems like many of the amenities in PuDong are priced for business travelers.

I’m not really sure where I am right now, but it’s a big marble plaza immediately outside the Shanghai museum. I’m really missing Google Maps. I’m not dependent on it for navigation, but it’s such a great tool for discreetly orienting yourself.

I again made the mistake of not eating any lunch and my body temperature rebelled by fluctuating wildly. I fell into this trap in Spain where I just stopped eating, and although the ultimate outcome (being thinner) was desirable, there was a period of hospitalization that was kind of scary. I’m having a hard time staying hydrated; I haven’t found much water, and I can only guzzle hot tea so fast.

The museum was really cool. I was blown away by the intersection of complexity and serious antiquity. Jade pieces that looked like new were listed as surviving from around 3000 BC (!!!!). I did note the impressive degree of stability. Foe a culture that has existed for so long, it seems like there’s an enduring and permeating aesthetic virtue that runs throughout.

June 4, 2009 - Posted by | Personal, Uncategorized | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

