Dan Dot Blog

Based on a true story

Milford

I’ve been back in Milford for five days or so now. I forgot what a cute and cool town it is. As exciting as it is to be in a big city, there’s also something neat about a place where you feel like maybe you have some chance of wrapping your arms around a more complete narrative. Any place that I go here, chances are that at some point in my life I’ve been here before, and that many houses are occupied by former classmates, teachers, or other people that I’d recognize. It definitely has a small-town lure that I haven’t experienced in a long time. I suppose I get something similar in Ann Arbor. I think that’s why I enjoy the Ann Arbor centered blogs so much; they give me some feel of community that seems to happen automatically in a town as small as Milford. I’ve always though of Ann Arbor as a “city,” but I think that’s mostly a relative feeling; it’s bigger than Milford, which I think of as a “town,” so it automatically gets moved up a class. I think English lacks a good term for these intermediate sized municipal units, or maybe it’s just my own vernacular that lacks a good term. Any suggestions?

Since my return from China I’ve been camped out mainly at home, for several reasons. First, I returned right around Father’s Day, so I wanted to spend time with my parents, and especially with my dad. I got kind of used to that and it’s been nice spending time with my family. It’s weird how life ebbs and flows. It seems like not that long ago I was eschewing my family’s company for friends, and yet as my friends evaporate in the post-college haze, family once again becomes important. From talking to friends, that does not seem like I’m the only one having such an experience.

June 23, 2009 - Posted by | Personal | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

