Dan Dot Blog

Based on a true story

RSS

Woah, I’m seeing traffic in my WordPress stats that suggest I have a few syndicated views. Are people actually subscribing to the blog via RSS? If so, that’s really neat :). Actually having an audience is very encouraging, even if they are the passive RSS type (I am too), though I ❤ all my readers, including those that read via Notes in Facebook (I don’t think this gets picked up in the syndicated stat) and those that actually come to this page to read.

August 12, 2009 - Posted by | Personal

4 Comments »

  1. so, having syndicated views means people are reading your entries, say, from Google Reader or the like? I’m really curious too who are subscribing to my blog. 🙂

    Comment by zizzie | November 8, 2009 | Reply

    • Yeah. I think I’m probably actually guilty of my own syndicated views, since I syndicated into Tumblr and Facebook with my blog’s RSS feed. I also have my own blog in Google Reader, just because I like to track frequency of posting stats. If your numbers are significantly higher, you just might have a good RSS following 🙂

      Comment by Daniel | December 10, 2009 | Reply

  2. Wait, so what are “syndicated views,” just people reading your blog through a different service?

    (I searched for “syndicated views” in the wordpress search feature and this came up. Still can’t figure out what it is or what it means for my blog.)

    Thanks for your help.

    Comment by ~A | December 15, 2009 | Reply

    • My guess is that syndicated views are hits to your RSS feed. I’m not sure if there’s a convention among RSS readers that indicates when a user actually “reads” an entry, or whether you get a syndicated view hit everytime your RSS feed gets polled.

      Comment by Daniel | January 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

