Dan Dot Blog

Based on a true story

The Scale of Things

Right now I’m sitting in my office, working on a programming module for some data analysis. I was having some issues figuring out the lengths of various strings so I took to doing some basic math on a napkin I had handy.

All of a sudden, I noticed that my decimal was moving. Upon closer inspection, it appears to be some kind of extremely itty bitty insect that’s slowly moving around my napkin inadvertantly changing my calculations by orders of magnitude.

It’s amazing that life can exist on such a tiny scale, and that it can be mobile and have some recognizable features. I wanted to take a picture of it and put it on Tumblr, but it’s literally too small for me to capture with any cameras I own.

Fascinating too is the fact that I have the visual acuity to see it 🙂

September 7, 2009 - Posted by | Personal | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

